My Heart is Resting, O my God

pexels-photo-462006.jpeg

In the wake of a bereavement several years ago, I found Anna L. Waring’s poem, ‘My Heart is Resting, O my God’ (1854) a great source of comfort and hope (full text at CyberHymnal.org). I have chosen the verses that hold the deepest meaning for me, and set them to some music of my own (sheet music and sound sample).

1. My heart is resting, O my God,
I will give thanks and sing;
My heart is at the secret source
Of ev’ry precious thing.
I thirst for springs of heav’nly life,
And here all day they rise
I seek the treasure of Thy love,
And close at hand it lies.

2. There is a certainty of love
That sets my heart at rest
A calm assurance for today
That to be poor is best
A pray’r reposing on His truth
Who hath made all things mine,
That draws my captive will to Him,
And makes it one with Thine.

3. Mine be the rev’rent list’ning love,
That waits all day on Thee,
The service of a watchful heart
Which no one else can see
The faith that, in a hidden way
No other eye may know,
Finds all its daily work prepared,
And loves to have it so.

4. My heart is resting,
O my God, My heart is in Thy care
I hear the voice of joy and health
Resounding ev’ry where.
“Thou art my portion,” saith my soul,
Ten thousand voices say,
The music of their glad Amen,
Will never die away.

Leave a comment